TITLE: WITH MALICE

WRITTEN BY: Eileen Cook

WANTED FOR: YA THRILLER

DESCRIPTION:  For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive psychological thriller about a teenage girl who cannot remember the last six weeks of her life.

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron’s senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

Welcome to the Fresh Files, Eileen! Thanks for stopping by and sharing a few interesting tidbits about yourself and your writing because Readers and Writers want to know the 411! So let’s start off by talking about a totally awesome scene in your soon to be released novel, WITH MALICE…

E. How does anyone pick just one scene? I will admit I love the scenes in my book that take place in Italy. This is because I managed to go to Italy to do some research as well as I love having the main character Jill trying to recall what happened there when her memory for that time is gone. She’s hearing different stories from people who were on the school trip with her and she has to figure out what is true and what motivation people might have for what they’re saying.

What do you do with those new story ideas that suddenly pop into your head when you’re out and about? Do you keep a journal? Write them quickly down, or tell yourself to remember then totally forget!

E. I used to go with the assumption that I would totally remember and then forget and beat myself up mentally for days for losing what I was sure was the idea of the century. Now I keep a notebook with me to jot down ideas or I also use the record function on my phone. This is how I end up with random recordings that say things like: “Santa was just the clown at Jesus’s birthday party,” and no other context.

Writers are snackers, right? I mean, sometimes you just can’t stop to eat so you might just bring the crumbs to the keyboard. What’s your fave writer snack while writing?

E. Cookies! I am pretty sure Sesame Street’s Cookie Monster is my spirit animal. Mmmm…Chocolate chip. Or peanut butter. Oooooh I have a good recipe for an Earl Grey Shortbread cookie that is darn tasty. Now I want to bake something.

Yeah, now, I want to EAT something. haha! I love books and television. What are some of the television shows that you watch or even the ones that are no longer playing on TV?

E. I love watching the most random things on Netflix- especially crime dramas from the BBC or weird subtitled Danish mystery shows. I’m also a huge fan of Orphan Black, The Walking Dead and Castle.

So you are an awesome writer…name another talent of yours.

E. I’m a knitter. Give me some yarn and a couple of sticks and BOOM you’ll have a scarf or a pair of socks. I feel this will be a very handy skill should the zombie apocalypse ever come to pass. I also find the act of creating something that I can see and touch (versus all the time in my head with my imaginary friends) is a great outlet.

Great, Eileen, thanks so much for sharing about WITH MALICE on the The Fresh Files!

Eileen Cook is a multi-published author with her novels appearing in eight different languages. Her books have been optioned for film and TV.  She spent most of her teen years wishing she were someone else or somewhere else, which is great training for a writer. Her newest book, WITH MALICE, will be out in June 2016. She’s an instructor/mentor with the Simon Fraser University Writer’s Studio Program. You can read more about Eileen, her books, and the things that strike her as funny at www.eileencook.com. Eileen lives in Vancouver with her husband and two very naughty dogs and no longer wishes to be anyone or anywhere else.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *