18 June 2016

D.R. Graham + Put It Out There

TITLE: PUT IT OUT THERE

WRITTEN BY: D.R. Graham

WANTED FOR: Contemporary YA

DESCRIPTION: The first book in the Britannia Beach series, perfect for fans of Katie McGarry. ‘Did you miss me?’ Returning home to Britannia Beach a year after her life was shattered is bittersweet for Derian Lafleur. Although some things settle back into place, others don’t click like they used to…especially her friendship with Trevor Maverty. Derian suddenly wishes the boy next door would see her as more than just a kid sister type. She tries to be everything she thinks he’s looking for— bolder, more experienced – but is that who she wants to be? With the fate of her family’s historic inn on the line and Trevor making life more complicated by the day, Derian struggles to manage her unexpected feelings, and deal with a past she’s not quite ready to leave behind.

Welcome to the Fresh Files, D.R.! Thanks for stopping by and sharing a few interesting tidbits about yourself and your writing because Readers and Writers want to know the 411! So let’s start off by talking about a totally awesome scene in your novel, PUT IT OUT THERE…

D.R. I have a lot of favourite scenes in this series. I don’t want to give too much away, but there is a motorcycle scene that will leave readers swooning over Trevor. My favourite scenes to write are the Search and Rescue action scenes and the “almost-kiss” building romance scenes.

Sounds great! What’s one of your favorite quotes in your book?

“Do you trust him?”

“With my life.” I leaned back against a tree trunk.

He stepped forward until our cheeks were touching and whispered, “Then trust him. If it’s meant to be, you can get together when the timing is right.”

What do you do with those new story ideas that suddenly pop into your head when you’re out and about? Do you keep a journal? Write them quickly down, or tell yourself to remember then totally forget!

D.R. Most of my ideas pop up when I am walking on the beach, driving to work, showering, or in that dreamy state between being asleep and awake, so I can’t usually write them down. It’s okay, though, because I don’t need to write anything down if I am still in the writing stage. Creative ideas will always come back to me once I’m at the computer. However, I do have to write down my ideas for corrections when I am in the revision phase. For some reason, specific corrections are easier to forget than plot ideas or dialogue. So, I have about twenty journals and note pads scattered all over the house for revision time.

I love books and television! What are some of the television shows that you watch or even the ones that are no longer playing on TV?

D.R. I am currently in love with Vikings. The cinematography and character development keep me hooked. Sometimes when I’m at work on a Thursday I get a burst of motivation because it’s Viking night. I also have a soft spot for Heartland because it is set on a horse ranch that is very similar to my grandparents’ place where I spent my summers growing up.

So you are an awesome writer…name another talent or hobby of yours.

D.R. One of my favourite hobbies is hiking in the area around Britannia Beach and Squamish. I went hiking on The Chief in Squamish on my first date with my husband. And a few years later he asked him to marry him on the peak above Britannia Beach. It is one of the most beautiful places on Earth.

So sweet! Thanks again for sharing with us, D.R. Best of luck with this awesome Britannia Beach series!

D.R. Graham is an author for HarperCollins and Entangled Publishing. She worked as a social worker with at-risk youth before becoming a therapist in private practice. The clients she works with are children and teenagers, and her novels deal with issues relevant to young and new adults in love, transition, or crisis. She is also an award winning columnist for the Richmond News. She currently lives in Vancouver, British Columbia with her husband. Visit her website, www.drgrahambooks.com.